Advisor Jesse Ausubel Awarded 2022 Nierenberg Prize

The Andrew W. Marshall Foundation (AWMF) congratulates Jesse Ausubel, member of our Advisory Group and Director of the Program for the Human Environment at the Rockefeller University, on receiving the 2022 Nierenberg Prize for Science in the Public Interest by the Scripps Institution of Oceanography.

The Nierenberg Prize is an annual award honoring the late William A. Nierenberg, an American physicist and former director of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography. Previous awardees have included Warren M. Washington, Jennifer Doudna, Sir David Attenborough, and Jane Goodall.

Jesse is an integral member of the Andrew W. Marshall Foundation; his ever-curious nature and sage guidance are vital to our community, and we are honored that he has dedicated time and effort to our mission.

Jesse’s work includes the Census of Marine Life, the International Barcode of Life, the Encyclopedia of Life, the Global Library of Underwater Biological Sounds, and the Leonardo da Vinci DNA Project, among many other ground-breaking activities.

Owen J. Daniels Named as Second Andrew W. Marshall Fellow

Hosted by the Center for Security and Emerging Technology (CSET) at Georgetown University

Jaffrey, NH – The Andrew W. Marshall Foundation (AWMF) welcomes its second Andrew W. Marshall Fellow, Owen J. Daniels, who will be hosted in residence at the Center for Security and Emerging Technology (CSET) at Georgetown University from 2022 to 2024.

A Policy Communications Specialist at CSET, Owen was also the grand prize winner of the inaugural Andrew W. Marshall Paper Prize on New Revolutions in Military Affairs, for his paper, “The ‘AI RMA’: The Revolution Has Not Arrived (Yet).”

The Andrew W. Marshall Fellow experiment provides new voices with the time, space, resources, and guidance to take new approaches to explore strategic questions facing the United States. In keeping with the spirit of Andy Marshall’s legacy, Fellows have great freedom to select a topic to explore over a two-year period in residence at a host institution. They are valued for their original thinking and are expected to think broadly, creatively, and break new analytical ground.

As a Fellow, Owen will explore broad questions related to U.S. technology strategy, particularly in the context of U.S. partners and allies and their relationships to U.S. competitors.

“We are delighted to continue working with Owen beyond his work on the paper prize and now as an Andrew W. Marshall Fellow at CSET,” Jaymie Durnan, Co-founder and Chairman of AWMF, said. “Owen has proven himself to be a curious, critical thinker. We are enthusiastic about working with CSET to foster him as he explores questions pertinent to the long-term security of the United States.”

“Owen brought to CSET a passion for strategic analysis as a result of his experiences at the Atlantic Council and the Institute for Defense Analyses,” CSET Director of Analysis Igor Mikolic-Torreira said. “His passion for this work is matched by the talent he demonstrated as a winner of the inaugural Andrew W. Marshall Foundation paper competition. At CSET, Owen has the freedom to explore the strategic issues posed as the U.S. for the first time faces a technological and economic peer. The mentorship and support provided by the Andrew W. Marshall Fellowship will help shape Owen as a strategic thinker contributing to the long-term security of the United States, in the tradition of Andrew Marshall.”

Established in January 2019, CSET is a research organization focused on studying the security impacts of emerging technologies, supporting academic work in security and technology studies, and delivering nonpartisan analysis to the policy community.

AWMF was established by Andrew W. Marshall and Jaymie Durnan. AWMF’s mission is to find and foster new voices who apply analytical approaches across disciplines to explore the strategic questions facing the United States. It prioritizes potential over popularity, thinking over volume, and courage over caution.

For more information, visit AWMF and CSET.

For media inquiries, contact AWMF at or CSET at AWMF on Twitter @AWMFoundtn and on LinkedIn.

Follow CSET on Twitter @CSETGeorgetown and LinkedIn.

Follow Owen Daniels on Twitter @OJDaniels.