Advisor Jesse Ausubel Awarded 2022 Nierenberg Prize

October 13, 2022

The Andrew W. Marshall Foundation (AWMF) congratulates Jesse Ausubel, member of our Advisory Group and Director of the Program for the Human Environment at the Rockefeller University, on receiving the 2022 Nierenberg Prize for Science in the Public Interest by the Scripps Institution of Oceanography.

The Nierenberg Prize is an annual award honoring the late William A. Nierenberg, an American physicist and former director of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography. Previous awardees have included Warren M. Washington, Jennifer Doudna, Sir David Attenborough, and Jane Goodall.

Jesse is an integral member of the Andrew W. Marshall Foundation; his ever-curious nature and sage guidance are vital to our community, and we are honored that he has dedicated time and effort to our mission.

Jesse’s work includes the Census of Marine Life, the International Barcode of Life, the Encyclopedia of Life, the Global Library of Underwater Biological Sounds, and the Leonardo da Vinci DNA Project, among many other ground-breaking activities.